The Power of Ponte

Is there any garment more versatile, stylish and comfortable than leggings? Jeans are great too but jeans don’t offer the same comfort as leggings IMHO. A few months ago, I bought some overpriced (way overpriced!) leggings to compliment an outfit. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love them but I knew I was paying too much for them and even entertained the thought of making them as I was handing over my credit card! They’re faux leather and ponte knit and feel fabulous on. 20130226-225002.jpg

I rationalized that since I’m saving money by making some of my clothes, I can afford to splurge every now and then.
But thanks to the plentiful pattern sales at Joanns, I picked up a McCalls pattern for .99 cent that offered a nice variety of legging styles so I thought Id give it a try!
20130227-204427.jpg

20130227-205502.jpg

The version I chose was a two tone style and fortunately, I had fabric in my stash I planned to use. It’s a graphic ponte knit I bought at Habermans a few years ago. Although, I’m supposed to be sewing from my stash, I did purchase a yard of black ponte knit to achieve the look.
20130226-233513.jpg

20130226-231554.jpg

20130226-231623.jpg

20130226-231636.jpg

Overall, I’m pleased with the way they turned out. But next time, I’ll make the waistband wider. I definitely plan on making other versions. Hopefully, I can find more interesting graphic knit.
20130226-232433.jpg

5 thoughts on “The Power of Ponte

  1. The best part is? They look more expensive than the originals! Very nice!!

  2. Great leggings and perfect with each blouse.

Leave a Reply

