Fabric Store Groupie

 Is there a clinical diagnosis for people like me (and probably you too if you’re reading this post!) that spend too much time in the fabric store?  I am compelled to visit the fabric store at least once a week.  If the fabric store was a band, I’d be considered a groupie!  Swooning over the rock star hoping to catch his eye.  Well, in this case, the fabric is the rock star that I get to take home again and again and again!  My fabric stash is getting outrageous!  I can’t sew fast enough to use my lovely finds.  My mother who has been sewing for nearly 50 years, has very little in her stash so she shops out of mine!  She’s a project shopper, buying mostly when she has a project in mind.  We are definitely polar opposites! 

I need to curtail my groupism for a while since the sewing expo is coming at the end of the month where I’ll be in full groupie mode!  Afterall, 3 years ago, the expo is where I discovered the PR community, bought Deepika’s book and really, really fell in love with all things sewing!

The challenge for me is how to organize my stash so I’l know what I have. Right now, all my fabric is kept in a storage container. When I need to retrieve anything, it’s like dumpster diving! And very time consuming!    

Help!

 In my online research, I found that there are many articles on this very topic!  The consensus is that using comic book boards or cardboard to fold your fabric around is the best way to store it.  It transforms the fabric into a fabric library!  http://www.everythingetsy.com/2012/05/lots-of-fabric-storage-ideas-organize-it/

                   fabric storage                                                                           

Sounded good to me until I read another board that said it’s not a good idea to fold the fabric because after a long period, the fabric becomes brittle at the fold.  So, my search continued. 

Other sewists comments suggested rolling the fabric, preferrably on tubes or bolts collected from the fabric store. 

Cathe Holden from http://justsomethingimade.com/2009/07/organizing-fabric-remnants/ offers these pretty label downloads for free.  This is the method I plan to use (minus the trunk!).  So the tube collecting begins.

6 thoughts on “Fabric Store Groupie

  1. What an awesome post! Love to see the collection once you’re done 😊

  2. Yes! Fellow fabric store groupie here! Sometimes I go walk thru the fabric store on my lunch break. Even if I don’t intend to buy anything I just find it relaxing and thought-provoking. You know you’ve spent entirely too much time there when (1) the employees recognize you and (2) you can immediately spot new fabrics.

    I keep my fabrics folded on an open-faced bookshelf but I am quickly outgrowing my space. I’m going to try this tube method. I think that will help me maximize my space. Thanks for doing the research!

    • Hi Inez,
      I agree, just being in the fabric store is thought provoking and inspiring. It makes me feel good when the sales clerks recognize me!
      I found really sturdy tubes at a recycle store and even bought wrapping paper to cover the tubes. I got all for 10 cent each! You may want to check there if you have one nearby. I finished my project and it looks so much neater. Now I can actually see what I have. Sorry I haven’t taken any pics yet. Good luck on your project! Thanks for reading.

  3. I just found your posts and I’m enjoying immensely. I’m getting several ideas for my next sewing projects.

Leave a Reply

