Newest Old Edition To The Family

 A few months ago, during a conversation with Mr. Bill, my sewing machine repairman, I mentioned that I wanted to purchase another sewing machine but didn’t want to spend a lot of money.  Mr. Bill is the most wonderful, kind-spirited 70+ year man you’ll ever meet.  He’s been repairing sewing machines for at least 50 years.  I met him when I purchased my current machine 3 years ago which I bought for a whole $4.50 from the Salvation Army.  It was only missing the plug and even came with a nice vinyl carrying case -SCORE!  Mr. Bill, who I found online, attached the plug, gave it a thorough cleaning and threw in a whole box of attachments -all for $60 bucks!  And a beautiful relationship was formed!

Anyway, back to the next pending purchase.  Mr. Bill asked me what my price range was.  Well, considering my first 2 machines (Singers) were bought at the Salvation Army for under $40.00, I figured I’d splurge and spend up to $30.00 for the next one.  No problem he said.  A few days later when I arrived to pick up the machine, my first reaction was “dang that’s old!”. 

Monkey Wards brand

It’s a Montgomery Wards (or monkey wards as my mother used to call them!) brand.   I didn’t even know how to thread it!  Fortunately, my main machine was working fine so there was no need to use it.  That is, until last week when the stitch length dial broke.  With lots of apprehension and a lession on how to thread the relic from Mr. Bill,  I gave the Monkey Wards machine a try.  It took some getting used to but boy does it sew!

                 

                                              

It has 27 stitch patterns. Side arms that swing out to expose the free arm. Compartments within the side arms for needle and bobbin storage and all metal parts which Mr. Bill says are better and last longer than the newer machines. And best of all- it comes with a generous and wonderful repairman who’s number is on speed dial! THANK YOU MR. BILL!

The Wonderful Mr. Bill

5 thoughts on “Newest Old Edition To The Family

  1. Wish there were more people out there like your Mr. Bill! I have a newish machine and a 1954 model singer. There is no comparison! The vintage machine is what I use every day!

    • Hi Nancy,
      I agree, we do need more Mr. Bills. “New” technology is both a gift and a curse. We’ve become a society too eager to get rid of so called outdated items eventhough they still work! I’ve been guilty of this as well, though I’m trying to change ;). On the otherhand, technology has given us this wonderful social media that allows you and I to chat. Gotta love that!

      Thanks for reading.

      Ernestine

  2. Hi! I am new to using sewing machines, I have hand sewn everything and it is a hassle now that I have less time for projects. I was wondering if you could help me figure out how to thread this machine? I have the exact same model (it used to be my grandmother’s) and I have no idea how to thread it or the bobbin. Any help would be wonderful!

    • Hi Rachelle,
      More than happy to help. I’ve taken a few photos for you The manual I have is not the exact one for the machine but the threading is the same. If you give me your email address, I’ll send them to you.

      Ernestine

    • Hi Rachelle
      I tried to send you some pictures of the threading process but the emails were returned. I would love to help you. Please verify your email address if you still need help.

Leave a Reply

