The stepchild pattern

20130731-214419.jpg

20130731-182045.jpg

20130731-181745.jpg

My beautiful fabric has been manipulated and damn near tortured in ways that even the designer couldn’t have fathomed! All because of a wayward, confusing heap of tissue paper and words strewn on tissue paper! Man o man, words don’t do justice for the dislike I have for this pattern! Just looking at the pattern illustration, you wouldn’t know of the trouble that lies ahead! Well, the fact that it had only been reviewed once on Pattern Review should have been my clue! To make matters worse, this was a 2nd view of the pattern which I thought would be easier but I had the same issues. And since the first view was made a year ago and I made NO notes on the pattern, I ran into the same roadblocks and some new ones!

There’s a lining and a facing and the instructions were sooo confusing to me that I ended up sewing the facing differently on each garment.

On this view, the facing is sewn between the lining and the silk fashion fabric but not intentionally. If memory serves me correctly, I think I sewed it on the wrong side of the lining and had to flip it.

20130731-181709.jpg

Here, the facing is on the outside of the lining.

20130731-182251.jpg

Another problem with this pattern was getting the fit right. How do you check the fit before inserting the zipper?? I didn’t want to risk continuously basting the zipper because my fabric snagged so easily! So one is too large. The other could have been a little looser. Even though the results were polar opposite BOTH have puckering zippers! REALLY?? Somebody, please tell me where I went wrong!!

I love the design but I am so done with this pattern! Thankfully, both tops are wearable but I’m somewhat disappointed because of the exhausting process of making them!


20130731-183042.jpg

20130731-183531.jpg

20130731-222530.jpg

2 thoughts on “The stepchild pattern

  1. What a shame the pattern took so much effort! It may not be the “right way” to check the fit, but if I can wiggle into the top I baste the back then try it. The other thing I do is leave the back unsewn, put the top on and get someone to hold the back pieces together and see if the top fits that way.

Leave a Reply

