Ralph Chado Rucci

20130512-224748.jpg

20130425-230759.jpg
It’s done finally! My extremely long Vogue Ralph Chado Rucci project! I was so hesitant about starting this project for fear of botching it up! Then Erica B. published her detailed, instructional review! http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=82705. Because of her thoughtful review, I knew the alterations I needed to make. For instance, I didn’t want the neck slit as revealing as what was shown on the pattern so I reduced the slit but obviously not enough! Darn it! Oh well, I’ll just have to buy a matching camisole. Also, I needed to lengthen the skirt to a respectable length for my 5’7″ frame. I added 1 1/2 inches to the waist, then adjusted all my markings. And I had no intentions of making the pockets but I got a little confused on how to bypass that part of the directions, so as an afterthought, I added them. I read scientific protocols for a living but couldn’t figure out how to bypass the pattern instructions- go figure! Anywho, I probably should have raised the pockets up a tad bit more. The fabric used is a pale pink ponte knit which sewed nicely. And since I was using knit, I used stabilizer on the ties to prevent stretching. I have to admit that I didn’t even know what a gusset was before this project but I really like this detail. Gives it high style factor! Also, I had never made bias binding prior to this project. When I’m walking, that little detail adds sex appeal. Overall, I love the way it turned out! This was the most thoughtful project I’ve ever worked on aside from the Burda Odysee http://wp.me/a2dcK6-9L. Careful consideration had to be taken, after all, there were 75 instructions to complete which was a confidence booster in itself! Even my husband, the ultimate critic was impressed by my skills which was enough to make me do the happy dance!

20130512-224950.jpg

20130512-225238.jpg

9 thoughts on “Ralph Chado Rucci

  1. Love this dress it looks super on you!

  2. It’s gorgeous! I just keep coming back to it. I totally forgot that Erica B made this, too. I love hers as well! That’s it, I’ve gotta put mine together…like everything else, I just gotta dive in and do it,lol!

  3. This is really gorgeous!!!!

  4. Oh that’s such a nice dress, and you look great in it!

Leave a Reply

