Call of the Wild

There’s some exciting events happening over at Pretty Grievances http://wp.me/FMjW that I just had to get in on. Jungle January! Where gamey sewists tear enthusiastically thru their stash (or newer acquisitions) in search of that animal print fabric that we’ve been saving for just the right occassion! Well, wait no more, Prettynpink has created that just right occassion! And the submissions so far have covered every species in the jungle! You’ve got your lions, tigers and bears (oh my!) Couldn’t resist!, sorry! Your birds and bees, big cats, little cats, snakes (eeew!) and lesser known species too!

While I’ve been known to sport a few snakes in my day (dating and wearing! Although, I much prefer the latter!), I knew exactly what animal in my stash I wanted to unleash! Okay, enough puns already!

Not too sure what type of fabric this is: possibly a polyester who cares, the most interesting part is that it’s an animal print with eyelash fur! I found this lovely find at my favorite fabric store, Habermans, when I first started sewing 3 to 4 years ago.

underbelly of the beast

underbelly of the beast

 

I’d take it out every so often to ask what it wanted to be and finally it said, “I want to be a vest” Using Simplicity 2285 view c, that’s what it became!

IMG_0036 vest S2285

vest 2285

It was kind of a no brainer considering the pattern illustration even featured this view in an animal print! How appropriate for the Jungle January fun!

I love the way it turned out! It’s a fun walk on the wild side and gets lots of attention! How Purr-fect and I don’t even mind the occasional petting!

20130224-083700.jpg

20130224-083900.jpg

4 thoughts on “Call of the Wild

  1. Norie, you are just toooooo adorable! We are having too much fun with Jungle January. Meowwwwwwwwww-valous!

  2. Pingback: Its a Jungle in here! « Pretty Grievances

  3. Pingback: The Annie Awards! Semi-live and semi-ferocious! | Pretty Grievances

Leave a Reply

